---
title: "Versioning a Model"
description: "Lucanet xP&A automatically takes snapshots of your model (or set of linked models) at regular intervals, and you can also manually save a named version of a model."
source_url: https://support.lucanet.com/en/documentation/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/working-with-models/versioning-a-model
language: en
last_updated: 2026-05-01
---
# Versioning a Model in Lucanet xP&A

## Overview

Lucanet xP&A (Extended Planning & Analysis) automatically takes snapshots of your model (or set of linked models) at regular intervals, and you can also manually save a named version of a model.

Versions and snapshots are useful for:

- Comparing different versions of the model(s) against one another
- Rolling back to older versions if you want to revert a set of changes

## Opening the Version History in xP&A

To navigate to the version history of a model, click the **Versions** button in the top right corner in the **Spreadsheet** view:

![Shows the 'Versions' button in the Spreadsheet view of a model.](https://support.lucanet.com/assets/docs-images/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/working-with-models/versioning-a-model/_images/en/opening-version-history.png)
Opening the version history of a model

The version history is displayed as follows, for example:

![Shows the version history of model. Highlighted is the button to switch between all versions and only named versions.](https://support.lucanet.com/assets/docs-images/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/working-with-models/versioning-a-model/_images/en/version-history.png)
Version history of a model

On the right side of the table header, you can choose to **Show named versions only** or to **Show all versions**, i.e. also those automatically created by the system.

## Manually Adding a Named Version in xP&A

In addition to the snapshots that are automatically created by the system, you can manually save **named versions** of your model (or set of [linked models](https://support.lucanet.com/en/documentation/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/working-with-models/linking-models.md)).

For example, if you finalize a budget, you can save a version called "Budget 2025" and refer back to it later or use it in charts and tables as a comparison against actuals.

You can also view named versions but will not be able to edit anything in it, unless you roll-back.

To save a named version:

1. Open the **version history** of the model.

2. Enter a **name** for the **New version**.

3. Click **Create**.
![Shows the fields in the version history to be used to create a new version](https://support.lucanet.com/assets/docs-images/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/working-with-models/versioning-a-model/_images/en/named-version.png)
Creating a named version

> **Warning:** - All linked models must have the same [fiscal year settings](https://support.lucanet.com/en/documentation/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/modeling-your-data/working-with-time.md) in order to save a version.
> - If you change the [granularity of a model](https://support.lucanet.com/en/documentation/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/modeling-your-data/working-with-time/time-granularities.md), you will no longer be able to compare with prior versions.
> - If you have a model that is [linked to a data source](https://support.lucanet.com/en/documentation/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/integrating-data.md), each version will use the values from the data source that existed when the version was saved. Versions will not be re-evaluated, e.g. if values in the data source change.
>
> However if **you roll the model back** to that version, it will be **re-evaluated with updated values** from the data source.

## Options for a Named Version in xP&A

If you hover over the row of an existing named version, you can:

- **Edit** the name
- **Delete** the version, using the trash bin icon
- **View** the version in read-only mode.
- **Roll-back** to the version to be able to edit it

![Shows the options you have for a named version when you hover over the row of the version in the version history.](https://support.lucanet.com/assets/docs-images/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/working-with-models/versioning-a-model/_images/en/options-named-version.png)
Options for a named version

> **Warning:** If you have a model that is [linked to a data source](https://support.lucanet.com/en/documentation/xp-a---extended-planning-and-analysis/integrating-data.md), each version will use the values from the data source that existed when the version was saved. Versions will not be re-evaluated, e.g. if values in the data source change.
>
> However, if you **roll the model back** to that version, it will be **re-evaluated with updated values** from the data source.
